A quick glance back @ 2007

Wow! What a year 2007 was for me!
REALLY!

I was sitting today looking over my submission track sheet and thinking about how I wanted to approach 2008 and I just sat there in wonder.
Eight years (not including the time off I took —about a year, year-and-a-half) that’s how long I’ve been writing — er, seriously that is. And I think I’ve done well.

I had a better ratio of personal rejections -to- form rejections this year. Yay! Like a little better than 3:5. Double yay! Eight acceptances… that floored me. I hadn’t counted them until today. But EIGHT! YAY w/ a cheesy grin! And all those acceptances began coming in August. My head has been in a whirl the last part of the year.

I still have about a third of what I sent out still out there. But I can’t help that. That’s in the editors hands. But all that will go into this years pot. And I’m still waiting on Highlights for atleast one of mine they are holding. *squeel. HL, I’m still excited about that.*

I had one close call for a printed book. AGAIN! This is the second time this one has almost sold. I can get them to open the door, just can’t get them to let me in. HA! HA! HA! HA! HA! ‘Who is that strange person knocking?’ They ask. So, I keep trudging and knocking on other doors. I know eventually I’ll find someone who likes me. “You like me? You really like me!” *me blowing kisses to everyone.

I have made some new and great friends this year. I got back into a critique group, started a regional critique group, and wound up joining one other. Three critique groups. Whew! That can sometimes get a person busy, but I like it. I love being thrown into so many stories and seeing them expand and take new turns and twists. And learning, learning, learning. I never learn enough, and the great people who have come into my life this year are teaching me some great things. I still have some people in my older groups that I talk to and I treasure them too. What a great group of people I get to be associated with!!! Children’s Writers really are top notched.

Yes, I’ve definitely had some great highlights for the year. Great personal rejections, almost getting there, friends who are like family, on and on.

I hope you all have had a great year. I am looking forward to 2008. And hey! It’s here all ready so I might as well be ready for it. I’m getting my goals in order and setting up my game plan. I can’t wait to see what everyone else has in store either.

Best wishes,
~~~Tracey

One thought on “A quick glance back @ 2007

  1. You’ve got the talent, Tracey. I know you can do anything you want to; just go for it!!! I am so proud of you. **Doing the ‘snoopy dance’ with you**

Leave a Reply

