WHY do you write?

As a writer, I get asked this frequently.
The simple answer is that my ideas won’t shut up until I get them wrote down. But even that doesn’t stop them from haunting me. (hahaha) I will wake up in the middle of the night and think ‘Oh, that’s how I can improve that.’ Or I have been talking to someone (my poor husband usually) and the idea will hit. (poor hubby, teehee) It happens at odd time, like when I’m driving, or taking my walk.  I’ve gotten into the habit of either taking a tape recorder OR I’ll use my phone to record snippets whenever they occur.

Getting back to my topic of why…
Just because! I feel the need to put my words on paper. I love seeing them form sentences, paragraphs, a plot, a beginning, middle and end. And then I can go into the fact that you connect to people that you don’t even know. It doesn’t matter what genre you write, you connect with your readers, you take them into your world as they take in your words.
It’s amazing to me.

My best experience with my work so far as been two children that don’t even know what they did for me. You can read about it on my website: Tracey M. Cox and click on ‘my greatest experience’ to see what happened. This happened early in my writing career, but it has made the greatest impact. I have had other experiences… doing school visits, reading at the library… seeing little children’s faces light up at something I had a hand in is one of the best feelings in the world for a children’s writer. I love the comment s and questions they come with too.

That’s why I write.  How about you?

One thought on “WHY do you write?

Leave a Reply

