The WHERE Question…

I get another question asked of me frequently… well two actually:

  1. Where do you get your ideas from?
  2. Where do you write?

WHERE DO I GET MY IDEAS FROM:
They come from everything, everyone, and everywhere. The old addage:

Write what you know.

is true. Which is basically telling you to draw from your own experiences and memories. A lot of my ideas come from when I was younger. I also have written a few articles for adults drawing on my experiences as a writer. I also get ideas from snippets I see or overhear. The newspaper is full of ideas waiting to hatch. Going to the mall or library or park, where you run into people, can be interesting too. You never know what may or may not happen. The main thing I try to do is keep an open mind to what all is going around me. And just because I found something TOTALLY worth writing about, doesn’t mean that you (sitting right by me) would want to write about it too.
That goes into our interests. When you are interested about something, it holds your attention longer and you’re able to focus on it more. I love sports, wrestling in particular. My sons have wrestled, my middle one still does for his school. I have SEVERAL stories on wrestling… fictional and non-fictional stories and articles. Within a Circle was published in June, 2008 by Stories for Children Magazine. That’s what is great about writing… figure out what you like and go for it.

WHERE DO I WRITE:
*me laughing out loud here* Where ever I can! Seriously. I write in the kitchen, the livingroom, on the computer, at ball games, in between matches at a tournament, and on and on and on I could go. I’m a mom of three boys (all still in school), a wife, I work, and there is still food to cook and a house to take care of. *although I’ll admit… the house does get neglected from time to time. hahaha*
The thing is to make time for your writing. This is your passion, what you want to do, and if you want it bad enough you can find time. I don’t have a certain block of time that I write. I don’t even have a goal of writing “said hours” a day. The thing that I do (that has worked for me) is writing when I can and being as productive as I can when I do find that time. It may be a few minutes here, 10 minutes there, and 40 minutes during another time. BUT I GET IT DONE!
It’s hard to juggle everything, but get things in order. I take care of my family, they are first in my life. And so what if the house didn’t get vaccumed today. If you have to look that hard to find dust, then you’re being too nosey. *teehee*
One thing that helps me is that I try to keep a notebook handy at all times. Mind you, that means I may have 4 or 5 notebooks going. I have one in my car in a totebag, one by my bed, one at my computer, another I do my school work in, and a few more scattered around. I also carry a hand-held tape recorder with me for when I’m in the car. The people around my small town don’t think I’m crazy anymore when they see me ‘talking to myself’ as I’m driving now. Most of them know I’m a writer and will talk into my recorder as I’m driving. Afterall, writing and driving don’t mix. That’s my take on DUI (driving under inspiration) *no, I’m not making fun of drunk driving either. so please no hate mail on this* I will carry my recorder when I go on walks too.
I found that my muse (inspiration) doesn’t have a time limit on when it may hit. But when ever it does, I try to be ready.

I hope the WHERE in your life happens today. Be it while you’re in the shower, driving to work, making dinner, or where ever.

Happy writing folks!

Leave a Reply

