Getting the Words Write, I Mean Rite, I Mean…. Oh Forgetaboutit!

I’m going to build on my revising thread from the other day here…

Once you’ve gotten your first draft done, now is the time to go back over it and let your editor speak. ***good, boy. haha***

The first thing I go over is spelling. Spelling counts! As a writer you want to put your best foot forward. Typos are a big turn off with editors. And will spell check is great, it won’t always pick up all of your miss steaks. <—great example, btw*** I like to go over every line one at a time. Sometimes I’ll read them backwards. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a lousy speller. My critique group is great at helping me NOT make a fool of myself and spelling. ***thanks, guys!!!***

Now once I’ve got my spelling as best as I can I go over weak words. If you are in a word doc. I can save you mucho time here!!!! You can use your ‘find’ tool in the edit section of your toolbar to find all these words that clue in on where you text is lagging.  Here’s a list that my critique groups over the years and I have put together:

Weakest – Weedy – Word   List

 

cut these words and watch your story shape up

 

a bit

a little

a lot

about

actually

all

almost

almost like

already

all ready

also

anyway

appears

approximately

back

basically

be

beautiful

been

big

begin to

but

certainly

close to

cold

could

definitely

even

eventually

exactly

fairly

finally

had

had had

here

highly

hot

instead

just

just then

kind of

little

loudly

maybe

mostly

nearly

now

only

perhaps

practically

pretty

probably

quite

quickly

rather

really

scary

seem

seemed

seems

silly

simply

slightly

slowly

so

softly

some

somehow

something

somewhat

somewhat like

sort of

start to

stayed

such

suddenly

that

then

there

to be

to the

too

truly

usually

utterly

very

walk

was

went

were

would

 

Use a good verb, rather than an adverb       ie— ‘-ly’ word.

Use positive phrasing instead of negative.

It all helps to cut words.

 

When I find a weak word in my manuscript, I try to give that sentence more zip. These words help you find where you can make your story more active. Most of the time I find that it helps on word count too.

Of course all this ties into the read, and revising post that I did a week or so ago. Don’t forget to read your story aloud and make sure it sounds true to your own ears. Get those weak words pumped up. ***lots of iron works.*** And make sure you’re miss steaks r all gone. ***buh-bye***

Before you know it you’ll be ready to move on to your next step…

2 thoughts on “Getting the Words Write, I Mean Rite, I Mean…. Oh Forgetaboutit!

Leave a Reply

