Start at the beginning and then move forward

OK, so my life went a little haywire. I still didn’t loose TOTAL cyberworld connection. Thank goodness for smart phones!
I had to drop my critique groups THANKFULLY one has accepted me back. THANKS GUYS!! Critique groups are the best and I’ve really missed having an extra set of eyes on my new mss.
So after March, the next exciting thing of 09′ was JUNE… SHAPING UP THE YEAR was released. AHHHHHHHHHHH! OH my dream came true. I cannot express in words (I know, hard to believe coming from me. HA!) what it feels like to finally hold a book in your hands and see your name on the cover. Saying that it’s AMAZING even lacks. But I got to do just that. In October my local newspaper, The Ocilla Star, did a great write up on me. Then at the end of the month I rode in the parade and signed books at our local festival.
I got 3 more acceptances for books!!!! One comes out next month. One is being illustrated right now. The last one is in que waiting. WOW!!!!
Towards the end of last school year I jumped in and did 2 Author Visits. WOW, yet again. The kids were great! I think I did pretty good in sales too. PLUS I was invited to come back to both schools this year. hooooooooooooooooooooooo-ray!
Now I’m on pins and needles waiting for RIBBERT’S WAY HOME to come out next month. RIBBERT’S WAY HOME is a fictional picture book about a family of frogs who have to find a new home because their pond is drying up.
I really, really, really can’t wait to hold this one. Ribbert is extra special. It was the first story I wrote professionally. While it really isn’t the exact same one (thank you revisions), it still has the basic storyline. It was also the one Nelson had told me, “Mom, THAT would make a cool book!” and started my writing journey over 10 years ago.

WOW! (<—Yes, I've been saying that a lot over the past 1 1/2 years)

Now, I'm learning the promotion side of things. Calling schools, newspapers, radio stations. Connecting with book reviewers, festival coordinators…. YOU NAME IT! Hopefully I'll be able to share some of those things too. I know many of you have followed me because of what I've put on here about writing, but I hope to help with the promotion of WHEN you get your books too. And if you have a great tip you can share too.

Til next time,

~t

One thought on “Start at the beginning and then move forward

Leave a Reply

