Monday Marketing…

Hello all.

Well here we are… 2011!!!!

So what are you going to do to get your name out there? I hope you have found some of what I’ve written here helpful. I know being in the writing game is time consuming and full of highs and lows. So what can I do to start the new year off right? Get to MARKETING!

I’ve mentioned several different places to research… Children’s Writers & Illustrators Market, Websites, Magazines. Here’s what you are trying to accomplish when you are researching:

  • what age range?
  • fiction / non-fiction / both
  • do they have a certain style?
  • is the author / illustrator the same through out?

All of these, plus more you yourself will add on, will help narrow your search for a publisher. You would be shocked how many people skip this one major step! WHY??? I don’t know. All I can say is that I want to put my best step forward. I want to have a polished manuscript, not a very rough draft. I want to make sure the publisher / magazine I’m submitting to is looking for something a long the lines that I am sending them. I want to give myself every chance of receiving an acceptance.

I wish you much success in this new year. I already have exciting news. I’m sure many of you already know about it, but will be posting later.

HAPPY NEW YEAR, READERS!
~t

Leave a Reply

