Thinking Thursday

We have all heard and given the same advice…

Write what you know.

But what if you step out of the box? You know, actually go OUT of your comfort zone? *Eeee-gads!*
You might find out that the ‘unknown’ is pretty interesting and dare I say – cool!

I’m a fiction nut. I love using my imagination and really getting into my own little world. Then I started writing non-fiction. *no-eye-rolling-allowed* I have always associated non-fiction with encyclopedias and such. DRY, DRY, DRY. I’m talking South Georgia, dirt roads, in the middle of Summer – D R Y!
Then guess what??? I actually found articles that were full of interesting facts. They still had non-fiction, but wove it into a piece that was creative and had a way of captivating the reader. WOW! I never, ever thought I would like to write non-fiction, but  I do. As a matter of fact, my first picture book, SHAPING UP THE YEAR, is… *da du dummmmmm* NON-FICTION.

I have heard a lot of good things about it though. How it really helps teach children. How the children love looking for and discovering the shapes and colors in every page.

 

So… Step out of that comfort zone every now and then. Try a different genre or technique of doing what you love. You might be surprised to find out that the ‘unknown’ is pretty cool and find success in what you try. I would love to hear about the different journeys each of you take and where it leads you.

Best wishes,
~t

Leave a Reply

