Marketing Monday: What I’ve Learned So Far… by Deb Hockenberry

Hello everyone.

First of all I must say I feel like a heel. Deb’s wonderful post should have been posted last Monday. *booo-hisssss to me* I didn’t hit the right button to schedule it properly. Her post was patiently waiting for it’s command in the draft section.

SO SORRY DEB!!!!!!

I really am happy to post it though and hope you all will get some tidbits out of this great article.

Be sure to read Deb’s bio and follow her links.

Thanks, Deb!

Best wishes and Happy Writing!

Tracey

WHAT I’VE LEARNED SO FAR ON MARKETING AND PROMOTING YOUR BOOK

 

Thank you for having me guest post on your blog today, Tracey. I’d like to discuss what I’ve learned so far about marketing and promoting my book.

As I told Tracey, My picture book is being published by 4RV Publishing. Okay, that’s great news for me but now what? I have to market and promote my book but how? So far, I’ve found a few ways.

First, it’s important to have an web presence. Start a blog, a website, or both. If you want to do both, Weebly is a very good webhost. You’ll find this at http://www.weebly.com. It’s a WYSIWYG website and that makes it very friendly for a non – techie person like myself. They also give you the choice of using HTML if you prefer. They let you have unlimited pages in your site so you set up a blog among your pages. They also let you post videos and audio files. I’m finding out in my research that posting videos on your website is just as important as the website itself!

Read books about promoting your book. They give you good advice. I know that there are people out there who say discouraging things about them like, “These books are a year or two old. They’re outdated.” Nothing is further from the truth. Sadly, I’ve only found three children’s marketing books. I’ve just downloaded one of these to my Kindle and have only just begun to read it. This book has excellent reviews on Amazon and I can’t wait to explore it’s suggestions! All three books are listed in the resources at the end of this article. Now, I have some good news! I’ve been reading two other marketing books. One is called EIGHT HOURS TO JUMP START YOU CAREER, THE EIGHT HOUR SERIES by Tammie Clarke Gibbs. The other is THE FRUGAL BOOK PROMOTER by Carolyn Howard – Johnson. Both have excellent advice and are available in both print and Kindle formats on amazon.com.

I have to stop here and let you know that these two books have nothing to do with marketing and promoting children’s books but I think this is just fine. They’re both about promoting the book which is my goal. The emphasis in Ms. Clarke’s book is on ebooks written for adults.  Ms. Howard – Johnson’s book is about marketing and promoting all books in general before and after publication. As with Ms. Gibbs book, I’m using Ms. Howard – Johnson’s suggestions to promote my children’s book. The point here is that you can take the suggestions from any book about promoting and marketing, tweak them to suit your needs, and use them for your own book. I’ve even garnered a few ideas of my own from reading them!

Both books emphasize the importance of social networking sites like Facebook, Goodreads, Google +, Shelfari, LinkedIn, Pinterest, and others. They both emphasize joining groups that are similar to your book and being active in them. They also state that you should start your author pages on these sites. Unfortunately, a lot of these sites require your book to be listed on Amazon.com or Barnes and Noble.com. However, Facebook will let you. I’ve been advised that the sooner you create one there, the better. So, I did. I have everything up there but a picture of the book cover. Heck, I even have a few posts up now!

We all know how social networking sites are constantly popping up on the ever changing Internet. We all have to do our own work to seek these sites out. There’s no getting around this at all! I can’t finish this paragraph without mentioning the ning groups. These are groups within groups and they cover every subject imaginable including every aspect of writing there is. One of these groups is called BOOK MARKETING. You might want to check this group out. I’ve listed the URL for the group below.

There are many other groups about book promoting on the other social networking sites too. I advise that you join these. You will get so many ideas and good suggestions from the other members about marketing your book! No matter what social networking site your on, just search for ‘book promoting’ or ‘book marketing.’

There are some good marketing blogs out there too. I’d advise you to subscribe to these since they offer up – to – date and fantastic advice! I’ve listed some of these below as well.

So, get yourself a web presence so you talk about your book. Start a blog, a website, or both. This is so important! Read those marketing books and form your own ideas. Join the many different social networking sites, get to know the people, and let them know you!

SOURCES:

by

Deb Hockenberry

http://www.debhockenberry.com

deb hockenberry

Deb Hockenberry

Deb has always wanted to write for children. She loved making up stories and telling them to her younger brothers, sisters, and neighborhood friends. If no – one was around, she told them to her pets – and she still does!

Finally, she decided the time had come to write these stories down. But she knew that in order to do it properly, she needed to study. So, Deb took two courses in writing for children from the Institute of Children’s Literature. She also belongs to the ongoing children’s literature workshop called The CBI Clubhouse as well as S.C.B.W.I. They are always such fun!

Deb was born in Pennsylvania. When she was in her early teens her family moved to a special place in Central Pennsylvania. She enjoys living there, particularly watching the mountains. There’s always something to see!

Deb especially likes watching the mountains wake up after a cold dreary winter. She enjoys watching the pale green leaf buds popping out on the trees and slowly changing into bright green leaves. She especially loves the fall when the trees change their colors. Then the mountains are dotted with the most colorful reds, yellows, and oranges you ever saw!

When she’s not writing Deb enjoys reading and reviewing books, watching movies, television and doing crafts.

You can learn more about Deb by visiting her website at http://www.debhockenberry.com.

 

LINKS

Website: http://www.debhockenberry.com

Blog: http://thebumpyroadtopublishing.blogspot.com

Facebook Author’s Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Deb-Hockenberry/234986433292961?ref=hl

 

6 thoughts on “Marketing Monday: What I’ve Learned So Far… by Deb Hockenberry

  1. Congratulations, Deb, on your upcoming release. Let me know when you’d like to do an interview on my blog to promote it. Lots of great ideas here. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

