GUEST BLOGGER: Robyn Campbell – I Always Wanted To Be A Writer

Hi Everyone!

Today I have a great story for all of you who are wondering… “Am I the only one?” When it comes to your writing, if you are on the right track, if you think a head of yourself (GOSH! I do this!!!!!), and a good presence of never letting go of your dreams, remember where you came from and where you are heading.

Thank you so much Robyn for sharing your story. I must say, I saw A LOT of myself. The first story I ever wrote was about 10 pages long. It was a picture book. 😦 And of course I thought it was the best thing in the world. Hahahaha. I’ll share my story below.

Hope you all can see the ray of sunshine that comes from this post.

Thanks again Robyn!!!

Best wishes,

~Tracey

 

 

I Always Wanted To Be A Writer

Robyn Campbell

by Robyn Campbell

I always wanted to be a writer, but life got in the way. Life is, six boys and one girl, a farm, hubby, and horses. (Hubby is only way down on that list, because he doesn’t require too much hands on help.) Then came the homeschooling. It was really through the kids that I decided to make my dream a reality.

So. I sat down and wrote my first picture book. Oh man! I thought it was the best story I’d ever read. I thought the first publisher I sent it to would snap it up. And I would make a million or two. Yeah! I was one happy mama! Woohoo. (I’d already spent a million or two in my head.) And no. You don’t wanna go in that place. It’s scary man.

On a sunny Tuesday morning, fast forward to me walking down to our mailbox, hopeful, whistling, full of anticipation. There was a letter in that box. It was from the publisher. I tried to look through the envelope to see how much the check was written for. (Yeah really.) I was like super dumb!
I raced back up the driveway, only to think I might have a heart attack. (Our driveway goes STRAIGHT up.) Note to self: never race up that thing again!

I hollered, “The check has arrived and I see a lot of zeroes.” Of course, I saw the zeroes in that scary place. My head. You don’t wanna go there. *shakes head*

I ripped into that envelope and shook the paper so the check would fall out.

Robyn looked perplexed. “Hmm. Where’s the check?” So I thought it must be taped to the paper.

You DO know what happened next right? Tears were shed. Squalling Robyns shed lots of tears, I gotta tell you.

It was a form rejection.

“Bbbut. It’s the best story ever written.” Robyn snorted.

In about a week, I reread my masterpiece. I’d already been online learning about picture books, snooping around my pal Susanna’s place, and basically realizing I was kinda dumb to think my first story would be picked up by the first publisher and I would sell it for millions. Sheesh. Could there ever be any person more brainless than me, back then?

Well, when I read my glorious bestselling story, I realized one important thing. I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS DOING!!!!!! That thing was a mess!

That was when I made up my mind to learn all I could. And that’s the motto of this way sad story peeps. Learn all we can. We have the entire world at out fingertips. Write, read, repeat. That’s taped to my computer. You know what else is taped beside my computer? That story. It reminds me of how far I’ve come. I know I’m always going to learn stuff, even after I’m published. But I’ve come a long way baby! Thanks for reading my way sad story. Now go and write that masterpiece! 

You can find Robyn Campbell:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authorswrite
Blog: http://robyn-campbell.blogspot.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robyn.campbell.587

16 thoughts on “GUEST BLOGGER: Robyn Campbell – I Always Wanted To Be A Writer

  1. Robyn,
    I know EXACTLY how you feel. The first story I wrote professionally was a 10 page picture book manuscript. YES, 10 = T-E-N = PAGES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😯 I was so proud of it. I even took it to my son’s teacher and had her read it to the class. !!!YIKES!!! Boy, did I have my head in the clouds. I have learn loads since and that story is not the same. hahahhaa.
    Thanks for sharing your experience!
    Tracey

  2. I enjoyed reading your story, Robyn! Your words are so true. I don’t think we ever stop learning as writers. Thanks for sharing this fun and inspiring post!

  3. See, just by the way you told that story Robyn it’s obvious what a storyteller you are! And I have watched your writing get better and better, and I know one of these days that envelope is going to have a check in it and you’re going to run up that driveway even though it IS straight up! Keep writing, and keep being your wonderful sunny self 🙂

  4. I was the same way Robyn! I thought that if I just got a story down on paper, it would be a masterpiece and then the millions would come. Oh how naive we were… 😀 Thanks for sharing your story! And I think Susanna is right, when the check does come, the time has come to run up your straight up driveway! 😀

  5. Oh Robyn, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post. I’m so glad you were brave enough to share what each of us has thought in our own dellusional head. I just knew my first ms (a rhyming tale, imagine that…YIKES to the tenth power) would be picked up by Pixar. Maya Rudolph (SNL fame) would be the voice of the mc. Yes, like you, I had it all laid out…in my mind. Wonderful post. Loved it!

  6. Dear Tracey,
    Thanks for having Robyn as a guest on your blog. I enjoyed hearing her story and shared in her sadness.
    Robyn, your check will come! Your sense of humor sets you above the crowd!

    Never Give Up
    Joan Y. Edwards

Leave a Reply

