www.Wednesday… 12×12 and Julie Hedlund

 

 

12-x-12-new-badge

I wanted to remind everyone about this great writing challenge.  ^^^^^ Yep, that one. The 12×12 Writing Challenge is currently underway aaaaaand it’s not to late to join in. Buuuuuuuuut time IS running out! Friday, February 28th, is THE LAST DAY to register to officially participate in this years’ challenge.

What Is It About

12×12 is all about writing. You have 12 months to write 12 picture book first drafts. Seems pretty easy, right. *cue evil laughter in the background* Believe it or not, writing is hard, life gets in the way, and sometimes your muse takes a vacation without telling you.
With the 12×12 writing challenge you get the added benefit of a community of writers who all are trying to do what you do… in the same genre! You can bounce ideas off of each other, ask questions, express concern, post exciting details, and rant. hahaha. Even when someone else is asking a question, it may trigger an idea with you and you are off and running with an idea yourself.  The group is mixed with newbies, mid-range, and experienced writers. This is an added benefit. You get experience, you get the ones digging in, and you get the ones who are struggling and may see something in a different way that you haven’t thought of.

How To Join

You can click on the 12×12 picture above or click here.  There are 3 different levels and different fees that go along with them.

What To Do After You Join?

W-R-I-T-E! Put your butt in that chair  (BIC)  and get to business! That is part of the job description. You have to write, type, scribble, BLEED those words out and get them down.
There is a forum with 12×12 as well as a Facebook page where you can ask questions, post events, introduce yourself, find critique groups, post the first 250 words of your ms, and MORE!

 

Why am I posting about something that someone has to pay for? Because I use this challenge myself! This is my 3rd year doing 12×12 and I believe the motivation and people keep me accountable and moving in the right directions.
Does it work? Yes, if you put work into it.
Will it guarantee a sale? No, that is up to you. YOU have to work at this writing business. YOU have to research publishing houses. YOU have to submit and get those rejections. YOU have to not get discourage and decide that YES, THIS IS WHO I AM AND WHAT I WANT TO DO!
But… you will have a whole slew of people behind you. Rooting you on! And enjoying it when that sweet success does happen. 🙂

There are other writing challenges out there too. I participate in quite a few. hahaha. I like challenging myself to become a better writer. How about you?

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know if you are participating in the 12×12 Writing Challenge. Or what writing goals do you have? How are you going to keep yourself accountable and achieve those dreams?
I’d love to hear from you!!!!

Happy Writing!
~t

*If you have found this post to be of valuable, please feel free to like and share on your social media.
*Sign up for updates (on the right column) so you don’t miss one post!

4 thoughts on “www.Wednesday… 12×12 and Julie Hedlund

  1. Jilanne,
    Yay! Welcome! This is my 3rd year of 12×12. Writing is good. I’m working on first draft #3 for the year already. Hope your year has gotten off to a great start. 🙂

  2. Tracey, I’m honored and touched by this post and SO happy to have you back in your third year. I LOVE how you described the benefits of being surrounded by writers at all levels. I think some writers who are further along have the misconception that they’ll be giving way more than they’re getting, when in fact it can be quite the other way around. People who are new often have a way of looking at the business and the writing in a refreshing way that we can all learn from. Thanks again!

  3. Julie,
    You are so very welcome! I’m very glad I found this group and love the community it has built into. It is so true how different people at the different stages see things. I think we all learn from each other. I’m glad you liked how I worded it. 🙂 Here’s to another great year of 12×12!

Leave a Reply

