Patriots Day… September 11th

Today is a day I reflect.

NYC WTC Site

NYC WTC Site

Just like Alan Jackson’s song:

Where were you when the world stopped turning, that September Day…

I think most of us can recall where we were, what we were doing, and stopped as our world changed.

I can remember… I had dropped the oldest two off at school, listening to the radio (going in and out on our back roads), catching phrases: New York City, Plane, Trade Center.
I got home and turned on the TV to the news station to see the horror and then the second plane and then the falling of those towers. Every year, I think about those lost and I think about those who responded. Police, Fire, EMS, strangers. I remember our country uniting. As a writer I was lost for words, just an overwhelming sadness. About a week later, I was able to write. šŸ™‚ Us writers always find a way, don’t we. While I’m not the best at poetry, it came out that way. I would like to share that with you again this year.

Ā 

September 11th… Never Forget

9-11RibbonI wear this ribbon upon my chest
Close to my heart to show the rest
That I won’t forget the ones who were lost
They paid with their lives, the ultimate cost
It’s for the cries of thousands without a sound
And for the cries of a country when the buildings came down
To show that when the dust settled and cleared
A faint song is what you could hear
As the days pass the song does grow
You can see it, hear it where ever you go The bells around the world for freedom ring
Voices can be heard for freedom they sing
For once America is a country united we stand
The song rings out from a freedom land
So for the people from the tragedy of a Tueday morn
You didn’t die in vain, our country was reborn.

by Tracey M. Cox (2001)

5 thoughts on “Patriots Day… September 11th

  1. Lovely poem.

    My oldest at the time was in kindergarten and at school, my youngest three years old. My youngest was playing in my home office while I worked at my virtual assistant job. My window above my computer was open and then suddenly my neighbor, Mark, was at my window calling my name. Knowing by the tone in his voice I knew something was wrong…never thinking of what was actually occurring. If anyone remembers Nextel cell phones it had two-way radio capability. Even though the cell phone portion was down the two-way radio still worked. This is the way my husband and I communicated all day long, as well with friends and family that had Nextel phones.

    God bless!

    Warmest regards,
    Donna

  2. What I remember most was the eerie stillness.That morning the skies were unusually clear. As all air space around the city shut down, there were no planes in the skies and virtually no traffic. At the time I was a Special Education Supervisor for the Dept. of Education working in Queens. The city’s emergency plan kicked into place and my partner and I drove to several schools in our district asking the principal’s if they needed assistance. I will never forget the terrified faces of children who did not know if their parents would be coming home that night.By the time I drove home after five that evening, there was no one on the road and the cloud of grey ash had already moved across the river to Queens. Certainly a scary time that none of us like to remember but can’t forget.

  3. At the time, I only had one child and had taken him to a play date at the parenting center. Rumblings of what had happened were brought up…towers coming down, plane crashing, hijack, and people jumping out of windows. It didn’t really sink in until I got home and turned on the news. Wow. Terrifying. I was at a loss for words and my heart cried for the families and our country. Although were were far away from it all (Wisconsin at that time), the horrifying sights seemed to be right there in my town.

  4. That song still takes me back every time I hear it. I was teaching. We were in a very old building with no television access. We were getting information via people calling or text the staff. It was confusing and scary. The children were being released early because of teacher inservice. We were directed to not say a word to the kids before they left. Our hearts hurt at this directive. It was the beginning of fall break and we would not see our babies for six weeks…we were sending many of them home to empty houses. I feared them turning on the TV and seeing the news with no adult support around them. Our school district made us stay for the inservice…I doubt anyone got anything from it, because we were all so worried. I had loaned my car to a friend because hers was getting serviced. She was picking up my daughter who was in Kindergarten and taking her home with her and her husband was picking me up after work. Once we were finally released Cliff picked me up and we went back to his house. It was around 6 pm and the first time I had access to a TV. I collapsed on the kitchen floor. Horrified. I spent the next six weeks barely leaving the house.

Leave a Reply

