PiBoIdMo Day 1-3… by Tracey M. Cox

piboidmo2014banner

 

PiBoIdMo is off and going!!!! I’m wondering how you are doing?

Me?   Well, I’m getting it going too. 🙂 I’ve got my cup of joe, my thinking cap on, and my laptop open to today’s post. Yes, letting that inspiration strike. So what have I written? One idea. Yes, one. I have the inkling for number two, but one for sure so far. Here’s what I’ve gotten out of the past three days…

Day 1
Stretch the Truth
Stretch

Don’t be afraid to go silly and outrageous with your writing. Think about some of the great pbs that are being published now… a picture-less picture book, some taken from songs, other twist older stories around. Take time to think like a child. I remember I had a very wild and vivid imagination when I was little. *my poor mother* Tap back into that and use it to it’s full potential.

Day 2
Free Your Mind
free-you-mind

Do something different. Do you write? Doodle! Do you illustrate? Use a different medium. Do something totally different and immerse yourself in it. Enjoy doing it and let your mind ease. I have found that that alone will get the juices going. That’s why I will think of something while I’m taking a shower, or riding in the car looking at the scenery passing, or taking a walk. By letting go, our mind is free to create. In other words, DON”T STRESS about writing. 😉  I know easier said than done.

Day 3
Time Management
Time

Tick-Tock, who’s afraid of the clock? Besides Captain Hook? Me! Yep, it’s hard to squeeze writing into life. You have jobs, family, home, events, and something is always going on or popping up. You want to write, right? How bad do you want it? I have found that if you want something bad enough, you will find a way. I can remember when my boys were little. I would write during wrestling practice, at the ball field, when they would take naps. I got up early or went to bed late. Now that they are grown? I still have to squeeze my writing time in, but I DO! I don’t write every day, but it is regularly. Plus I have my voice recorder on my phone to catch ideas while I’m not near paper or laptop.

So there is my summary of the first 3 days of PiBoIdMo. Btw, I stopped writing this post because idea #2 took off and I had to come back to finish it. See, making time to write!

Happy writing!
~t

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know how you are doing on your PiBoIdMo journey.
Do you have some ideas flowing yet? It’s only the beginning of the month. There’s plenty of time.

 

*Don’t miss one post. Email sign-up is over here —>
**Liked this post? Feel free to LIKE, COMMENT, and SHARE. Easy, peasy buttons found below.

9 thoughts on “PiBoIdMo Day 1-3… by Tracey M. Cox

  1. I find my inspiration from watching the younger classes at school. I envy their effortless imaginations on the playground. And their absurd sense of humor. Oh, to be 6 again but be able to remember!

  2. Tracey, I really find your summary of the PiBoIdMo posts helpful. As a picture book writer and reader, I appreciate brevity.

  3. That is a good thing and yet, can be a problem too.
    When that happens to me, I’ll write them up in an ideas folder on my laptop. Then go back to them when I feel I’m in a rut.

  4. Thank you Romelle.
    The individual post go in depth and have their little nuggets. I like to do an overview… selfish really. hahaha. Because it keeps me accountable and will sometimes jog a good idea forward.

Leave a Reply

