PiBoIdMo Day 16-18… by Tracey M. Cox

piboidmo2014banner

 :::CAUTION:::
Creative Process At Work!

So here we are. We have reached that peak on the mountain and it’s all down hill now.   HA!  I have found that the second half can give you a false sense of almost-at-the-finish-line syndrome. Do not be lulled into a dull fog. Nope! You still have a ways to go and maybe you are getting fatigued. Chin up and keep on trucking.   🙂   These last three days have really stuck me as a writing process group.   So here’s what I got out of them…

Day 16
Breaking Rocks

Pick.svg.med

Just keep digging. Just keep digging. Just keep digging, digging, digging. Yes, we all have ideas that suck. SO WHAT!?! You have to go through a bunch of rocks before you find a gem. BUT it’s not that pretty. It’s dull and is doesn’t have a true form. You know it can be beautiful. So what needs to be done? Yep, more work. So you chisel it down, making the sides more define. Once you have the shape, you begin to sand, buff, and finally polish it. The end product is what you hoped for… all sparkly and ready to be bought.

Day 17
Looking Beyond

binoculars_jh.svg.med

Where can you find ideas? I know you keep hearing, “Everywhere”, but it’s true. If you feel like you are getting stuck ask a teacher, librarian, or museum curator if they know of any books that they are lacking. What is something they would like to see more of on their shelves? Or better yet, is there something NOT on their shelves? Sometimes you might discover a great idea that you would love to dive into! So don’t be afraid to ask.

Day 18
Just Keep Thinking

cartoon-thought-bubble-mdThis post was SO me!!! THIS is how I write. I think. I stew. I roll it around in my head. Then FINALLY I will put it on paper. Why? There is no reason, except this is how I can get my ideas to come out best. That’s what we all want, right? To put our best work out there. Well, by NOT writing everyday, I do better work. It’s okay if this isn’t how you write though. Everyone has their own formula. You just have to discover what works for you!

So how are you doing? I have 18 ideas!

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know what is your writing habit.
What do you do to get out of a writing rut?
What’s the longest it has taken you to get an idea out of your head and onto paper?  *Mine is 9 months!!!*

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

*Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
**Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.  Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
***I will be starting a NEWSLETTER in the New Year! Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my Newsletter sign-up page.

2 thoughts on “PiBoIdMo Day 16-18… by Tracey M. Cox

  1. Ha! 9 months is just about right to hatch out a story baby. I mind-write for a week or so, usually and then get to typing. And I DO write every day (for exactly an hour), but I switch from project to project, so there’s always something to work on. .

Leave a Reply

