~ HAPPY NEW YEAR ~ from Tracey M. Cox

confetti-md   confetti-mdconfetti-md

 

confetti-md            disco-ball-mdconfetti-md

*******************
*** 2   0   1   5   ***
*******************

~Happy New Year~

Welcome to 2015!

I know many of you are focusing on your New Year’s Resolutions, and I do have a few of my own, but today I like to reflect back on the past year and see where I have grown and what I have accomplished.

  • Platform Building
    My goal for 2014 was to establish myself on the internet and become comfortable with what I stand for. Pre-2014 when you did a search on “Tracey M. Cox” you would find a different author. Now I have at least 2 pages full of articles, videos, social media contact, etc where you can find me. My platform? How to market with little to no money is still in its infancy, but I know the direction it is heading in and I feel confident in where it is going.
  • Better Content
    I’ve done research and feel my output is so much better this year. I hope others learn from me and can pass it forward too. Better content also builds on platform. I hope to be known as a trusted source and someone who loves to bounce ideas off with.
  • Marketing
    THIS was a biggie for me. I’ve learned to toot my own horn. Carry business cards and books with me. Not to be shy about telling others I write AND love it!  🙂  I also am learning the fine line of marketing and being pushy. Nobody wants to be battered over the head and I don’t want to be the person you see and want to run from.  😉
  • Writing
    My writing has improved so much this year. Researching again and again. Critique groups!!!!!!!!! Taking classes. All this, and an open mind, has contributed to my writing this year.
  • Friendships
    I’ve lost some this year. Some by death, others by their choice. I don’t know which is harder. Still, you have to learn to let go.
    I’ve gained some this year. There are some wonderful people I can’t wait to get to know better.
    Then there are the ones who have remained a constant in my life. I’m thankful for all they have given me. I only hope they feel the same about me.

So what is up with this year?

I’ll be keeping up with the same schedule:
Monday – Marketing
Tuesday – Tips
Wednesday – www.
Thursday – Thinking
Friday – Features (when I have some volunteers)
So two to three posts a week.  🙂  I plan on going into better depth and expanding my knowledge on marketing and kidlit. I hope to have a few surprises this year too. *fingers crossed*

What I hope to accomplish past this blog?

  • Learn to use social media more effectively.
  • Get an agent
  • Book contract
  • Work on writing
  • Work on illustrating
  • Books Love & Taters Book Festival (4th annual) to be bigger and better this year

I hope to see you into the year too!

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know what you would love to achieve this year.
What are some things you accomplished in 2014?
How do you plan to build on last year?

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

*Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
**Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.  Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
***Sign up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my Newsletter sign-up page.

7 thoughts on “~ HAPPY NEW YEAR ~ from Tracey M. Cox

  1. Happy New Year to you Tracey! I like the daily schedule that you have in place. For 2015, I think I should develop a daily writing plan as well. As long as I keep it simple, I believe I can stick to it. Much success to you in 2015!

  2. Wow, Tracey, sound like you had a busy year! Good luck with accomplishing everything you want in 2015.

    My goals for 2015 involve consistency. I am working on being a more consistent writer -which includes revision and submission! I’ve got writing prompts set up for each Monday of the year, so I make sure to have something new to work on every week. If you’re like me and need a place to get started, come check them out (ellenwrin.blogspot.com).

  3. Thanks Rona.
    I post twice a week (when life allows) Monday & Wednesday one week. Then Tuesday & Thursday the next. Every now and then I will have a Friday post. Of course there is always holidays. But my theme stays the same. I like to try and keep it simple too. I know some people who can post every day. I can’t. So we have to learn what works best for us and move forward from there.
    As far as writing, yes, I try to write every day. It may be something new, or it can be a revision, or research to incorporate into a manuscript. But I always try to move forward. My goal for writing this year is to have 12 first drafts done. That will be 12 new manuscripts and to revise older ones to be suitable for submission.
    Good luck!

  4. Thanks Ellen.
    Going to check out your blog! 🙂
    I work on writing every day. My plan for this year is to continue creating 12 new manuscripts in 12 months. Plus revise older mss into suitable submission pieces. Oh and submit!
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

