www. The Purple Crayon

purple-crayon-logo

Harold Underdown’s: The Purple Crayon

Today’s www. Wednesday, I’m highlighting Harold Underdown’s website: The Purple Crayon.

This website has been around for a while and is chock full of information.

How long? you may ask.
It was the first informative website I ran across when I started writing in 2000.  <insert nodding head here> A long time ago.

It’s grown a lot over the years. Of course, the writing world has too. The changes I’ve seen are incredible.

What information can you find there?

  • Who’s Moving Where? – Great inside moving knowledge of the industry. Agents and editors tend to change. Harold helps keep you up to date.
  • Articles – It doesn’t matter if you are a newbie or an expert. He is always updating material that you can find useful
  • Editorial Services – Did you know that Harold is a former editor as several well-known publishing houses? He offers critique services and workshops.
  • Information on his book, “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Publishing Children’s Books”.
    idiots_guide_to_publishing_childrens_books

So click on over to Harold Underdown’s: The Purple Crayon and be ready to have some extra time on your hands.

About HAROLD UNDERDOWN:

Harold UnderdownI have been a children’s book editor for over 20 years. For the first half of that, I worked in-house at Macmillan, Orchard, and Charlesbridge. More recently I have been working independently–working with authors and publishers, speaking at conferences, and giving workshops. I also run The Purple Crayon, an informational website, at http://www.underdown.org/, and am a contributing editor to Children’s Writer’s and Illustrator’s Market.
The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Publishing Children’s Books grew out of my experiences as an editor. I have posted information and sample chapters on my website at my Idiot’s Guide page.
(used from: Harold Underdown’s Goodreads bio)

 

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know what you think of today’s   www. Wednesday.
Do you know of another resourceful website? I would love to highlight here on my blog.

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
** Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
*** Sign up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other
tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my
Newsletter sign-up page.

8 thoughts on “www. The Purple Crayon

  1. My gawd Tracey…this is a wonderful source!! It might be one of the better ones. Thank you So much. I’ve just come back from the SCBWI winter conference and feel kinda beat up. My brains feel scrambled. When I get a chance to get my feet under me I’m going to really search this site. Thanks again, Terry Cook  

Leave a Reply

