Thinking Thursday… Getting Established

caterpillar.svg.med

Getting Established

Getting established (or re-established) can feel overwhelming. There are so many things we need to do or can do.

  1. Website
  2. Blog
  3. Social Media
  4. Word of Mouth

First thing first though!

Google yourself to see what (or who) is out there.  Check out websites, social media outlets, and blogs to see what is available. You want to become consistent with your name throughout your visual presence if possible. I was very fortunate, I have:

  1. Website
    www.traceymcox.com
  2. Blog
    www.traceymcox.wordpress.com
  3. FaceBook
    (personal) www.facebook.com/traceymcox.1
    (prefessional) www.facebook.com/traceymcox.author
  4. Twitter
    www.twitter.com/traceymcox     or
    @traceymcox
  5. Pinterest
    www.pinterest.com/traceymcox
  6. YouTube
    www.youtube.com/user/traceymcox
  7. Skype
    traceymcox.author

Just to name a few.  As you can see, I was able to keep my name “Tracey M. Cox” in the search.

What if my name isn’t available?

You can do a variation. [Your Name] writes or [Your Name] author/illustrator. Or do the reverse. Maybe you have a pen name or a quirky name you want people to remember you by. Use that.

Be Consistent! Be, Be Consistent!

Not everyone will be coming from your website. You do have all your links on your website, right? Some people will be searching for you from a search engine. Some can be coming from another link, perhaps from someone else’s blog or website. You want them to recognize you!

Not only should you have your listing match, try matching or similar pictures too. This will help visual recognition! I’m more visual than anything. I can remember a face. Names??? Can be sketchy.   😉   That doesn’t mean you can’t change your pictures. Just remember to do it with all of them. Or have a few grouped together and a few others grouped together. You want people to know it is you when they are searching.

Putting your best foot forward

Your website is your face on the internet. You want to be presentable and allow people to get to know you.

Blogging is a great sound board. It allows you to talk about what you are passionate about, what you stand for, what you want in life. It is a great building block of your platform and branding. Remember to bring your message forward. We all have bad days and you can sound off about it too… just try to do it in a constructive way. Remember people will be reading your posts. Hopefully, some will be agents and/or editors that you will want to present a good image to.

Social Media is a handful! (Zoinks! There goes that constructive whining!!!   😉   ) It can be time consuming and overwhelming. I took it a little at a time. I researched each outlet and gave it a whole-hearted try for at least a week solid before I decided on it. Do I like them all??? NO! Do I use them all? NO! There are a few I’m on, barely. There are some I’m learning to like too. Then there are the ones I wish would be better, because I really like using them.

Word of Mouth is probably one of the best! Really. I think it is, because that means someone else thinks enough about you to pass your name on. To me, it’s one of the best compliments one person can give another. “Oh, so-and-so is really good at (blah). You should check them out!” Or there is “Such-and-such has a new book out called (TITLE). Go read it!” When you say good things about people, they notice.   🙂
While on Social Media, I try to keep it a 1:5 ratio, if not more. Which means for every one promotional post, I will post at least five other posts about somebody else or something else.

Be Friendly

One thing I will say is this…

Don’t constantly talk about yourself!

Talk about others… in a good way!!! Lift each other up. Promote someone who does something really well. Reciprocity RoCkS!

So get out there and let people know you, know what you are about, and who else you like.

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know what you think about this post.
What are some of the steps you’ve taken to get establish?
What are some ways you would like to learn about?

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
** Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
*** Sign up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other
tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my
Newsletter sign-up page.
Shaping Up The Year book       RibbertsWayHome8x300[1]       LGHL-small       justthethingtobe8x300       ADT-8x150       Arachnabet

7 thoughts on “Thinking Thursday… Getting Established

  1. HI Tienny, You could do a combo page like “Author/ Graphics” or Author / Illustator. That way you don’t have to go update each post. One mistake I made was going with a page deveoted to my second book. Now that one is lagging behind my author page. And I wonder what to post on it since I have one for author. 🙂

    Hi Tracy, Thanks for sharing this info. It was quite enlightening to google myself. my twitter isn’t even on there because I shortened it Cbojahn and I guess google doens’t know it is me. Although it does know I’m clarbojahn for everything else. 🙂

  2. Hi Tienny,
    I don’t think so. If you combine the professional page, it would make it easier to keep it updated.
    One thing I do to keep my professional fb page active is link it to my Twitter account. I post more things related to writing community with my Twitter so it blends in nicely. I also have my Instagram account linked to my Twitter (puppy overload from me . 😉 ). So that goes through 3 social media accounts with one load.
    I hope that makes sense. Hmm, might be a future blog post to explain it better.
    Now, I do have fb pages for each of my books, but they don’t get posted to very often. I did that so no one else could get that link. I like to control as much as I can that is out there.
    Hoping I didn’t confuse you more. I can be kind of scattered at times. 😀

  3. Ah, Glad to see you agree with me. I have fb pages for each of my books, but I don’t post to them very often. They also don’t have a large following. I don’t mind though. I wanted to control the link to them.
    I’m glad you found my post helpful. Try linking your website in some of your Twitter posts. That may help the seo for it. Also what do you go by on Twitter. You ID can be different and have your name (or title???) match what everyone knows you by. That may help too, if you aren’t all ready doing it.

  4. My handle on twitter is cbojahn and everything else is clarbojahn with Clara Bowman-Jahn in there somewhere. Not sure what to do different in twitter… will explore it. thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

