Thinking Thursday – Writing/Illustrating Groups

Writing-IllustratingGroupInfo

Writing / Illustrating Groups

Why is it important to join groups?   I’ve heard a lot of people ask this. They are worried about ideas being stolen, techniques being copied, among other things. Honestly, I know of one person who has had this problem. ONE in fifteen years!

The benefits far outweigh the fears. In writing and illustrating groups I have found a tribe like no other. They get “me”!!! They know the struggles. The triumphs. The self-doubt. The isolation. The fear of rejection. The Snoopy Dancing of acceptance. EVERYTHING! They know ‘me’ and they know ‘you’ too. We all go through these things.

I’ve been able to share techniques, learn about workshops, books, conferences, all to help me better myself.

I’ve been able to help those who don’t have as much experience as me too. Although I feel as if I’m a newbie at things too. I have never stopped learning about my craft.

They are there to listen to your whine and offer the perfect cheese to go with it.   😀   <big, cheesy grin>

They are my support group, my cheerleaders, my friends.

You can find groups through email and social media. Here are a few I have found invaluable on Facebook:

There are so many more on Facebook. Just search for what you are looking for!

One forum I tell EVERYONE to check out is:

There are so many out there, but those are a few of my favorites.

Get out and mingle. You are sure to find great people and friends who know your heart.

 

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know what groups you have found beneficial?
What other ways do you have to mingle?
Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
** Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
*** Sign up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other
tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my
Newsletter sign-up page.
Shaping Up The Year book       RibbertsWayHome8x300[1]       LGHL-small       justthethingtobe8x300       ADT-8x150       Arachnabet

5 thoughts on “Thinking Thursday – Writing/Illustrating Groups

  1. Thank you for including our fun KidLit TV group! We’re working hard to help folks find the best resources and video tutorials. So thrilled to be in such great company: PiBoIdMo and KidLit 411!

  2. I’m new to writing groups but I have found the ones I have participated in to be very supportive and full of helpful and friendly advice. I can recommend ReFoReMo and RhyPiBoMo.

Leave a Reply

