Thinking Thursday – Peek-A-Boo! Finding Ideas

Finding IdeasPeek-A-Boo! Finding Ideas

I think the number one question I hear from writers (and students at school visits) is: WHERE DO YOU FIND your IDEAS?

Honestly, there isn’t magic words to mumble or a ritual to go through. It is simple though.

payAttention

Really. See things. Hear things. Experience things. Let your senses lead you. There are thousands of stories surrounding you everyday. You only have to take the time to see them. Hear them. Feel them. Explore them.

I’ve written stories on trees, geese, shapes, frogs, and on and on.

Think like a reader. What would they like to see? To do? To know? What are you curious about?

Once you begin the process of really seeing the world around you, there will be ideas that begin to jump at you. So will be crappy, but some will be great. Some will take shape. While others will slip through your fingers like grains of sand.

I wish there was an amazing piece of advice to give you on this subject! I would use it myself. hahaha.  😀

I guess I would say, experience life. Even though we have similar experiences, we don’t process them the same way. We each have a story to tell.

So get writing!

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT::::
Let me know about your idea process.
Do you know some magical words?
Or have an awesome ritual that works?
^^^ I really want to know!!!  😉
Or do you struggle, like me?

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
** Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
**Sign Up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other
tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my
Newsletter sign-up page.
Shaping Up The Year book       RibbertsWayHome8x300[1]       LGHL-small       justthethingtobe8x300       ADT-8x150       Arachnabet

2 thoughts on “Thinking Thursday – Peek-A-Boo! Finding Ideas

  1. Paying attention seems the best advice for ideas. Sometimes when I am doing something or watching or listening, an idea will pop into my head!
    A lady that sometimes sews for me had her granddaughter over one day when I stopped by. When she told me the little girl’s name, I knew I wanted her for a character in a story. Now I am waiting for the right plot!

  2. Carleen, YES! That is how it will happen to me too. You never know what a character will walk into our life, or a setting will unfold before our eyes, or a conflict will arise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

