Tuesday Tips: 5 Tips on How to Find an Agent

5 tips on how to find an agent5 Tips on How to Find an Agent

Finding an agent is no small feat. Trust me. I’m struggling on this very subject, like many of you. So why do I feel qualified to give out hints??? Because, I’ve learned from my mistakes and would like to pass on some helpful information to hopefully save you from getting your hopes up OR going down the wrong path.

So here are somethings I have learned along my winding, bumpy, often full of boulders path:

  • RESEARCH
    There are TONS of reasons to do research. Go to the agency’s website to:
    a) Make sure the acquire the same genre as you.
    b) Make sure they are open to submissions.
    c) To see how to format your submissions.
    BUT I want you to take your research a step further.  Look them up on other outlets like Preditors & Editors, Absolute Write, QueryTracker. Each of these websites will show you if the have a reputation (bad or good), and Absolute Write has discussions on some of them too. Or go to forums such as the Blue Boards and see if there is any information on them and/or ask about them yourself.
  • TALK
    Talk to other writers and illustrators about agents. Talk to the agents themselves!!! (They are really nice people.) There are groups who are focused solely one editors/agent information.
  • FOLLOW
    Stalk… Follow them on Twitter/Facebook/Blogs/Tumbler/you get the picture.
    You will get to know them as a person… their likes, dislikes, #MSWL!!!, and more.
  • ASK QUESTIONS
    Some agencies are open to hearing your questions. Fuse Literary Agency is one of them. #AskFuse is a popular hashtag on Twitter on Fridays. What better way of finding out thoughts and feelings that by asking. *note: these parties are usually NOT for pitching ms*
  • GUT FEELING
    In the end, go with your gut.
    If something doesn’t feel right, sound right, look right, whatever, LISTEN to that voice and follow through.

So why am I writing this post? Because I have had friends get burned by not-so-great agents. I have friends who have been lifted up by some awesome agents. I myself have had to run away when something wasn’t right. Through research I have found some lovely people, and even if they don’t represent me, I know are wonderful agents who will champion their right people.

Just remember this:

No agent is better than a bad agent.

Happy hunting.   😉

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Do you agree with my advice?
Is there something I left out?
Do you know of any other great research websites?

Until next time,

Happy writing.
~t

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
* Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
* Sign up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other
tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my
Newsletter sign-up page.
Shaping Up The Year book       RibbertsWayHome8x300[1]       LGHL-small       justthethingtobe8x300       ADT-8x150       Arachnabet

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Tips: 5 Tips on How to Find an Agent

  1. Great advice, Tracey! I found my agent (as you know) by looking at contests where agents ask for manuscripts based on a pitch. When I noticed a pattern in what an agent was requesting, I queried her directly with a piece that fit that pattern. And the rest, as they say, is history. So even if you are not participating in a contest like NestPitch, Writer’s Voice, PitMad, etc…it’s a great way to learn what agents like!

  2. Tracey, your posts are always so practical and timely. They cover an array of necessary info that I’m not sure where I’d find. Thanks. Great job!

  3. Informative post with very helpful advice! I would add to remember that if you get a rejection from an agent you want to work with, it’s okay to query them again with a new story – just not too quickly!

  4. Thank you, Terry. It’s always nice to hear that you are helping people. 🙂 I’ve had so many help me along the way. So now I hope to help others.

  5. Ariel, Yes!!! That is so true. I have a very select few who are on the tippie top of my list. I’ve sent a few to them with hopes, but I always wait a while before I submit again.

  6. Thanks for this post. I agree that going with your gut is so, so important. Any offer is enough to elicit celebration, but if your gut still says “I don’t know” or your have too many unanswered questions, something might not be right. Do not be afraid to ask the agent questions. They should be 100% willing to answer and open to you speaking with their clients or referrals.

Leave a Reply

