Thinking Thursday – Where I Got My Idea for The Children At the Playground

swing_set.svg.med

Where I Got My Idea for
THE CHILDREN AT THE PLAYGROUND

I wish there was a magic thing to do to make writing happen… to get ideas to flow… to have the perfect words written. But there isn’t.

I have told you all before that ideas happen EVERYWHERE. You have to be open to see, to hear, to explore the nudges that we all get. Writers are a little more receptive in that area. Where people see a tree, a writer can see the squirrel gathering nuts for the Winter and how it is struggling with a mama Mockingbird for property rights. Oh, there’s a story.

So HOW did THE CHILDREN AT THE PLAYGROUND get its nudge?

An earwig. YEP, something that we all hate to get. Hahaha. It’s true though. Here’s the story…

I had tied my walking shoes and went through the living room to the back door. There was a commercial (or something) on TV with The Wheels On the Bus song playing. I really didn’t pay too much attention to it, and kept on my merry little way out the door and down my dirt road walking. I went a little further than normal and before I knew it, I was humming… You guessed it, The Wheels On the Bus to myself. Then my mind started thinking about running for the bus. Then it started thinking about silly stuff, like wiggling on the bus. Yes, I was doing the movements while walking down the road. Thank goodness I live on a private dirt road and don’t have to worry about motorist. *heehee* I then began thinking about children and what they could do and somehow my mind turned toward a playground. *Don’t question a writers mind.  😉  * I started mentally listing and then (using my voice recorder on my phone) recording the different things children can do at the playground. By the time I got back home (walking my 5k, thank you very much!), I had the jest of the story and decided to pair it up with the The Wheels On the Bus song.

So now I have a cute sing-song-y story that not only promotes reading, but exercise and family time as well.

Keep your eyes and ears open. You never know when inspiration may strike!

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know what you think about my inspirational post.
Do you like to hear about the back story?
Are you excited about my new book? It will be release into the wild this Summer!!!!

DON’T FORGET…

Summer SparksSUMMER SPARKS will be starting this month on June 21st! READ THIS POST and let me know if you will be taking the challenge. Let’s get those ideas sparking!

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
* Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
* Sign up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other
tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my
Newsletter sign up page.
Shaping Up The Year book       RibbertsWayHome8x300[1]       LGHL-small       justthethingtobe8x300       ADT-8x150       Arachnabet

Leave a Reply

