#SummerSparks Day 1: Family Celebration

Summer Sparks Day 1

#SummerSparks Day 1: FAMILY CELEBRATION
by: Tracey M. Cox

It’s here! It’s here! What a day!

First Day of Summer

Father’s Day

and

Summer Sparks!

All rolled up into one happy, happy day.

First of all, I want to thank you all for your encouragement of me hosting this challenge again this year.

Several things are going on in the background that I can’t share, just yet. I’ve had a few bloggers who have had to change their plans. I plan on carrying on though. So, you will be seeing a bit more of me this year than last. Now onto today’s post…

Family.slate-blue-family-mdFamily makes you you. I thought I would kick off Summer Sparks celebrating family, especially since today is Father’s Day.   🙂

Families come in all shapes and sizes. We all have our matriarch, the goof ball, the serious ones, the ones who go above all and beyond to help, the ones we would like to ignore.

I owe my love of storytelling to my grandfather. I lived with my grandparent before I was ever born. My grandfather would tell me stories of giants who wanted their goose who laid golden eggs back, stories of hungry bears, and of silly piggies building things. He also told me stories that were his own. He showed me how shadows on a wall could turn into characters in a story who had a history and challenges to overcome. He also developed my love of music. Singing, playing the keyboard, and strumming a guitar could be heard any day at my house.

So while we celebrate the Dad’s in our life today, think about your family, and celebrate!

SPARK:

FAMILY. Write something about someone who inspired you in your family. Do some research into your genealogy. Do you have native american history? Someone who fought in a war? A king? Civil rights activist? You can go non-fiction, fiction, or faction on this. Let’s here it for our families!

About Tracey:

Tracey2

Tracey M. Cox has been writing professionally since 2000. She is traditionally published with six picture book out. This Summer, her 7th picture book, The Children at the Playground, will be published by Xist Publishing.
Tracey is the host of Summer Sparks, author, platform building consultant, and offers a critique service. Read more about her at www.traceymcox.com.

LINKS:

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Blog
PB Reviews

#GIVEAWAY#

Tracey will be giving away one full critique at the end of the challenge. COMMENT ON THIS POST to qualify for any give away. *you will need to comment on every give away post*.
TWEET – about this giveaway.
FACEBOOK – post about this giveaway too!!!

Click  —> a Rafflecopter giveaway  <— to enter giveaway!

:::LEAVE A COMMENT:::
Let me know, are you participating in this years #SummerSparks writing challenge?

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign-ups are over here —>
* Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found  below.
* Sign up for my  N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other
tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click  ~HERE~  to be directed to my
Newsletter sign up page.
Shaping Up The Year book       RibbertsWayHome8x300[1]       LGHL-small       justthethingtobe8x300       ADT-8x150       Arachnabet

2015 Summer Sparks post:

  1. Family Celebration by Tracey M. Cox
  2. Back Where I Come From by Tracey M. Cox
  3. The Benefits of Playdough: Molding your PB Idea Into A Story by Donna L. Martin
  4. Go Jump In a Lake by Tracey M. Cox
  5. Take a Vacay! by Tracey M. Cox
  6. How to Rhyme Right in a Picture Book Manuscript by Nancy Raines Day
  7. Don’t You Know that You Are a Shooting Star? by Tracey M. Cox
  8. Sun Burst by Tracey M. Cox
  9. Writing Tips from the Big Bad Writer by Pat Miller
  10. Get Out! by Tracey M. Cox
  11. Pieces by Tracey M. Cox
  12. Make Your Non-Fiction Leap Off the Page! by Jennifer Swanson
  13. Do the Twist by Tracey M. Cox
  14. Celebrate! by Tracey M. Cox
29 thoughts on “#SummerSparks Day 1: Family Celebration

  1. Tracey, I’m so excited to be part of The Summer Sparks Challenge again this year. Thank you for putting it all together!

  2. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 2: Back Where I Come From | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  3. Funny, I had just made myself a note to think about asking my mother-in-law about some events in her life. I guess that confirms my next project. Thanks!

  4. i wish I would have written down more of the stories my grandparents told me when they were alive.

  5. Me too! I loved to listen to the stories, just didn’t think to write them all down. I have a family reunion coming up this weekend. There are only two brothers left of my papa’s siblings. I’m hoping they will be there… with stories. 🙂

  6. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 3 – The Benefits of Playdough… by Donna L. Martin | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  7. Just a little bit late, but happy to be here, just the same. Thank you, Tracey, for Summer Sparkles!

    Spending time with family, telling and sharing stories is the best.
    ~Sue AKA Suzy

  8. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 4 – Go Jump In a Lake | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  9. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 5 – Take a Vacay! | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  10. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 6 – How to Rhyme Right in a Picture Book Manuscript by Nancy Raines Day | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  11. Tracey, I don’t think my comment came through when I posted it. I’m loving Summer Sparks. Thank you for putting it together again this year!

  12. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 7 – Don’t You Know that You Are a Shooting Star? | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  13. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 8 – Sun Burst | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  14. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 9 – Writing Tips from the Big Bad Writer by Pat Miller | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  15. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 10 – Get Out! | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  16. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 11 – Pieces | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  17. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 12 – Make Your Non-Fiction Leap Off the Page! by Jennifer Swanson | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  18. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 13 – Do the Twist | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

  19. Pingback: #SummerSparks Day 14 – Celebrate! | a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

Leave a Reply

