Holiday Contest! – Zipping Around on Christmas Eve by Tracey M. Cox

Hi everyone.

Most writers have heard about the world famous Susanna L. Hill’s Holiday Writing Contest. WHAT? You haven’t heard??? Well go HERE to read about the contest. I’ll wait…

Okay, now that you’re all caught up, I have to say I {{{LOVED}}} listening and dancing to this song growing up. I immediately thought of a spin off and started to work. Would you like to read it? You would? Yay!

But wait! Where ARE my manners. Susanna would be so embarrassed about my hostessing duties. Let me offer you some goodies. Smell that? Yes, fresh out of the oven COOKIES! Peanut Butter Cookies w/ M&M Minis.
image

Didn’t think I would forget the chocolate, did you Susanna?  🙂 And don’t forget to grab a cup of cocoa to wash it down.

Now that I’ve made sure you’ve been properly welcomed, here’s my story for Susanna’s contest.

Are you sure you don’t want another cookie? Or need your cocoa refilled?
No?

Okay, here we go…

Zipping Around on Christmas Eve
 
Zipping around on Christmas Eve
All over the town square.
People are out, busy bees
In the frosty, cool, crisp air.

People shopping for their gifts
Tied with a pretty bow.
Others are talking merrily.
Children sledding through the snow.

We can grab some cocoa and join
Right on in.
Skaters spinning. Carolers singing.
Charity bells ring-a-linging.

Christmas trees and twinkling lights
Can be seen all down the street.
Snow falling all around,
Crunching under feet.

We can grab some cocoa and join
Right on in.
Skaters spinning. Carolers singing.
Charity bells ring-a-linging.

Zipping around on Christmas Eve
We have to be on our way.
Everyone now dashes off
To beat Santa and his sleigh.

Want to read more stories? Visit THIS POST on Susanna’s blog to see the list to everyone’s holiday posts!

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Let me know what you think of my story.
Did it get you in the holly, jolly spirit?
Remind you to enjoy all the winter activities?

Until next time,

Happy Writing!
~t

* Don’t miss one post! Email sign ups are over here —>
* Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT ON THIS POST.
Easy, peasy buttons found below.
* Sign up for my N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click ~HERE~ to be directed to my Newsletter sign up page.

44 thoughts on “Holiday Contest! – Zipping Around on Christmas Eve by Tracey M. Cox

  1. Oh, I love that song, too, Tracey! When my daughter was about 6 or 7, she got a tape player for Christmas and listened to that song ENDLESSLY. So you can be sure that I loved your story! (And I couldn’t help singing it!) 🙂

  2. I love your rhyme and refrains. Well done! I tried rhyming and then went with prose (to try to get the song out of my head :)).

  3. Yay! Now I have to teach this to my kids. I’m kind of tired of their version of ‘Coming to Town’ – “…he knows when you’re awake/ Now isn’t that a scary thought?/ and he never takes a break.”

  4. What a delightful story, Tracey! I feel like it’s Christmas Eve! And you are the hostess with the mostess – those cookies look divine and I will be needing the recipe ASAP! 🙂 Happy Holidays and thanks so much for joining in the contest fun!

  5. Awe, Thank you, Susanna.
    Recipe is easy, peasy…
    Preheat oven to 350°
    INGREDIENT
    cup peanut butter
    1 cup sugar
    1 egg
    (I double and put 1 cup creamy & 1 cup crunchy peanut butter)
    Mix ingredients until mixture is smooth
    Roll cookie size balls and place on pan
    Flatten the ball
    Either criss-cross fork to make design or add topping. (M&M minis)
    Cook 10-15 minutes depending on your oven.
    They are VERY yummy.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

