www(dot)Wednesday – #BLTBF

#BLTBF

www(dot)Wednesday –
#BLTBF

Today I wanted to highlight something very close to my heart…

The of reading!

I live in South Georgia, USA, where the literacy rate is not as high as the national level. As a writer, it breaks my heart. As a reader, I really don’t understand it. I mean, I {{{LOVE}}}} BOOKS! Why doesn’t everyone???

I know, people struggle with language, reading, misconceptions. People get discouraged, downhearted, and want to give up. BUT I am a firm believer in words being power.

So I decided to try and make a difference in my own community. In 2012, I started a book festival. Books Love & Taters Book Festival to be precise. WHY? Well, I hold it during my towns major festival of The Georgia Sweet Potato Festival. This accomplishes the need to advertise and crowd draw. My little town goes from 4,000 to 10,000+ during that weekend! 8-o  Amazing!  I invite local and state authors to come set up to sell their books, meet the public, have their picture taken, and answer questions people may have.

So far the response has been amazing. Last year, there were six authors (including me) within two booth spaces. This year??? Well, I’m going to need more booth space! I have had about 10 that are hoping to be there!!!!

It is an awesome way for authors to get their name out there, meet other authors, and have fun for the day.

AND this is my FIFTH YEAR! Major milestone!!! If you are in South Georgia, I hope you can make it and say hello!

***If you would like to help support BLTBF you can go to the website and donate***

Thanks everyone!

:::LEAVE ME A COMMENT:::
Do you have any events in your area to help promote literacy?
What other ways can you help spread the word to read?
Do you know of any other websites you would like to see featured?

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

  • Did you enjoy this post? Feel free to LIKE, SHARE, and COMMENT on this post.
    Easy, peasy buttons found below.
  • Don’t miss one post! Email sign ups are over here —>
  •  Sign up for my N E W S L E T T E R ! I will be sharing writing challenges and other tidbits related to the kidlit industry. Click ~HERE~ to be directed to my Newsletter sign up page.

ShapingUptheYearcoverart RibbertsWayHome8x300[1] LGHL-small justthethingtobe8x300 ADT-8x150 Arachnabet 91RmjVjmjxL._SL500_SX310_ CXW8x150 100PFT300

Leave a Reply

