REBLOG: Description Shows Instead of Telling

REBLOG.04

Description Shows Instead of Telling

“I love description. Give me some great metaphors and similes. Paint rich settings. Let me see the heat waves radiating off the asphalt, let me smell the rust and the dust and the summer sun beating down on the car abandoned in front of the old farmhouse, and let me feel my feet burning inside my Converse sneakers. Give me frogs down at the creek, calling me to the swimming hole. Calling me to the shady spot. Calling me to slow down, and dip my hot, blistered feet in the cool water.

Description helps the reader relate

It makes the story world feel familiar.”

READ MORE ON… Sally Apokedak’s blog!

Leave a Reply

