Help Support the #BLTBF

SM-BLTBF

Hi everyone.

Have you ever wanted to make a difference? I think most of us who are in the KidLit field hope that our creations in one way or another make a difference in a child’s life. I know I do. 

I happen to live in a very rural part of my state. I live in a town so small you can’t find it on the bigger maps.  🙂

Ocilla has a population of about 4,000 people. Most of us know each other. Yep, it’s one of those towns where everyone knows what you are up to, usually before you do. *hahaha* While living in a small town has some great benefits, it also poses its cons too. State funds trickle down from the bigger Metro cities. Then comes the smaller cities and larger towns. Finally my little city gets their ‘share’. *Personally, I think the sharing that goes on resembles that of a litter of puppies and my town happens to be the runt.* Because of this, I’ve seen the education system, the support for the arts (which includes our little public library), and our reading level drop.

So what to do?

In 2012 I decided to quit worrying about our declining reading levels and DO something about it. I put together the Books Love & Taters Book Festival. I chose to hold this mini book festival during the Georgia Sweet Potato Festival. WHY? Because my little town of 4,000 erupts to over 10,000 for this one weekend. The Georgia Sweet Potato Festival is held every year in Ocilla on the last Saturday of October. That year, I invited authors around the state of Georgia to come and set up a table, meet the public, and hopefully sell some books. I had 5 other authors join me that year. We had a ball. Not only did we all sell copies of our books, we also made friends with our readers, AND with each other.

5th Annual BOOKS LOVE & TATERS BOOK FESTIVAL

This year, October 29, 2016, will mark the 5th annual Books Love & Taters Book Festival. There will be up to 10 authors this year. Yep, it’s growing!!! But  with growth I’m needing help. I will be pit-patting my way around Ocilla looking for sponsors. I’m also holding a kickstarter to help. And one other thing… I’m asking for book donations to go to my local library.

How can you help?

LOCALS:

Sponsor
:I am looking for local businesses to sponsor the Books Love & Taters Book Festival. Check out the website to print out a form.

Spread the word:Feel free to share this post. Tell people about this awesome event! Please use #BLTBF in your online postings.


Donate a book
: I am hoping to donate books to my local public & school libraries. We live in a very rural area & monies trickle in at best if you would like to donate a book or books please send to: Trace M. Cox, PO Box 43, Ocilla, GA 31774.

OTHERS:

Kickstarter: I’ve started a fundraiser to raise at least $500. Kickstarter is all or nothing. This means if you donate, you will not be charged unless I meet my goal. Herr is where the monies will be going:

3 booth spots @ $95.00 each = $285.00

1 12×12 canopy @ $120 (plus tax) = $130.00

That’s  $415.00 for those two items alone. The rest of the money will be spent renting tables & chairs for the authors.

Spread the word:Feel free to share this post. Tell people about this awesome event! Please use #BLTBF in your online postings.


Donate a book
: I am hoping to donate books to my local public & school libraries. We live in a very rural area & monies trickle in at best if you would like to donate a book or books please send to: Trace M. Cox, PO Box 43, Ocilla, GA 31774.

I hope to expand a little more in the coming years. I appreciate each of you taking the time to read my posts. A special Thanks Bunches! to those of you who can help in anyway to see the event continue.

Until next time…

Happy Writing!
~t

5 thoughts on “Help Support the #BLTBF

  1. Hi Tracey,
    I do not know you personally but greatly appreciate your heart for children. I write and publish multilingual books for children. I also desire to create fun, vividly colorful picture books for all children to read. I am mailing you 4 English/Spanish bilingual books. Two are for your library and the others may be sold at the festival. If you direct everyone to my website, http://www.thelittlefig.com they can see the titles and languages currently available. There is also a fig4kids’ page where everyone can download free activities, jingles composed for each title and more.
    The 3rd most spoken language in Georgia is Korean. So I am also sending a bilingual paperback copy of Frog Has No Fur in English + Korean. I would appreciate a notice to insure they have reached your address.
    Best of luck with your festival. If you are ever in the Kansas City area give me a shout.
    Have an awesome day!
    Sherry

    S. J. Bushue
    Author, Owner, The Little Fig, LLC
    The Little Fig, LLC
    P.O. Box 26073
    Overland Park, KS 66225
    cell (913) 226-6099 fax (913) 239-9350
    sherry@bushue.com | sherry@thelittlefig.com | http://www.thelittlefig.com

Leave a Reply

