#NeverForget #September11 #15SeptembersLater

maryalice-color#NeverForget #September11 #15SeptembersLater

Today is a somber one for me. To reflect. To listen. To learn. To remember.

Never Forget

I can remember dropping Son#1 & Son#2 off at school, and heading home. I had the radio on, but on the back southern roads, the signal would go in and out. I remember hearing the morning radio host saying something about NYC… [static]… Plane… [static]… Towers… [static]….

As I neared home, the radio station came back in and I was updated that a plane had hit one of the towers. I rushed into my house and turned on the TV. I fixed Son#3 (who had just turned 2) his breakfast and he ate while I watched the news. The second plane hit and I knew it wasn’t an accident. I knew we were under attack.

Then I watched in horror as those towers fell. I remember falling with them. I sat on the floor where I had been standing only moments before and cried. Son#3 came and sat in my lap. We rocked and hugged. Him consoling me. Telling me it was okay and I didn’t have to cry.

September 11

Every year passes. Every year I think back to that day. As a writer I wanted to write. Words took a new meaning in those days for me. I wrote a poem a few days later. You all know I’m not a poet, but this is how the words flowed and I would like to share it with you…

9-11ribbon

I wear this ribbon upon  my chest
Close to my heart to show the rest
That I won’t forget the ones who were lost
They paid with their lives, the ultimate cost
It’s for the cries of thousands without a sound
And for the cries of a country when the buildings came down
To show that when the dust settled and cleared
A faint song is what you could hear
As the days pass the song does grow
You can see it, hear it where ever you go
The bells around the world for freedom ring
Voices can be heard for freedom they sing
For once America is a country united we stand
The song rings out from a freedom land
So for the people from the tragedy of a Tuesday morn
You didn’t die in vain, our country was reborn.

15 Septembers Later

My heart still breaks. But today it breaks in a different way. We are a nation divided. There is so much hurt. So much hate coming in from all different directions.

I want September 12, 2001 back!

Where people didn’t see race.
Where people didn’t care what religion you belonged to.
Where people didn’t care  what your sexual preference was.
Where people only cared that you were another human being who had survived the day before.

Please don’t make it take another day like that day.
Please see your fellow man and truly see them as one belonging to the HUMAN RACE.
We all bleed red. If you cut me and I cut you, no one will be able to just look at out blood and tell which one it came from which.

I ask my country to remember 9/11 and remember those who lost the lives. Remember the heroes… ordinary men and woman who did extraordinary things that day. And to remember the unity of America coming together in a time of need.

Never forget.

All my love,
`t

4 thoughts on “#NeverForget #September11 #15SeptembersLater

  1. Beautiful post. I think the day will never leave my mind. My babies/students still remember I gave them a big hug as they got on the buses in the afternoon. A few of them remember that hug and we still talk about that end of the day.

Leave a Reply

